Arthur W. Diamond Law Library Research Guides

From Research Guides
Jump to: navigation, search

Online Ready Reference Tools for Foreign and International Research

Written by Silke Sahl Last Updated October 11, 2010


Contents

Dictionaries and language tools

YourDictionary.Com
Provides links to approximately 260 online language dictionaries, from Abenaki to Zulu. Includes a law dictionary section.

Translation and Drafting Aids in the European Union Languages
From Europa, links to translation and drafting tools in the 20 official languages of the EU.

Abbreviations and citations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbrevations
Excellent database of abbreviations. Search by full name or abbreviation.

Translation Information

AltaVista/Babelfish
Provides electronic translations in Chinese, English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. Electronic translation services can be unreliable, but they are a good way to get started.

Google Language Tools
With google language tools you can search for websites in specific languages and countries. There is also a translation page, and there are links to google sites in other countries.

National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators
Includes a useful membership directory with over 700 interpreters and translators working in more than 110 different languages.

Directories

Infobel
This site provides links to telephone directories around the world. It also includes a list of international dialing codes.

Foreign Law Collections in U.S. Libraries
From the University of Pittsburgh School of Law, this helpful foreign law survey covers many, but not all foreign law collections in the United States.

LIBDEX-The Library Index
LIBDEX is an index of 18,000 libraries. This database can be browsed by country. Many country entries have sections dedicated to law libraries. It also includes a directory of web-based OPACs.

World Directory of Law Schools
Information on many law schools around the world.

Yahoo-Embassies and Consulates
Yahoo's directory of links to the websites of embassies and consulates. It also includes a section for web directories.

Vendor and publisher information

AcqWeb—Directory of Publishers and Vendors, Law Publishers
Great resource for law vendors and publishers. Also, see AcqWeb's WWW Resources for Law Librarians in Acquisitions and Collection Development.

CrivPage—A Legal Publishers List
From the AALL Committee on Relations with Information Vendors, this site provides useful links, arranged by publisher.

Antiquarian and Used Law Booksellers Around the World
From Kloof Booksellers, this page includes contact information for booksellers in around a dozen countries.

Country Information

Library of Congress Country Studies
Country studies include information about social, economic, political and national security systems.

U.S. Department of State Background Notes
Factual information about countries around the world. It includes sections on land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy and foreign relations.

CIA World Factbook
Basic country information from the CIA about background, geography, people, government, economy and more.


Please send comments regarding this guide to Silke Sahl, International, Foreign and Comparative Law Librarian, Columbia Law School, Arthur W. Diamond Law Library at ssahl@law.columbia.edu .

TOOLBOX
LANGUAGES
Personal tools