Arthur W. Diamond Law Library Research Guides

From Research Guides
Jump to: navigation, search

Human Rights Research Guide

Written by Aslihan Bulut Last Updated February 7, 2012

This selective guide provides an overview of sources for the international human rights researcher. It is organized in 5 parts. The 1st part consists of background materials, which are mostly secondary sources to aid the researcher in understanding the language and provide finding aids to locate the primary human rights instruments. A secondary and equally important function of these secondary sources is to equip the non-specialist with a list of sources that will lay the foundation of international human rights.

For the more experienced user, part 2 of the guide may be the starting point. A selective list of the primary sources of international human rights can be found in this section with links directly to the organizations and instruments. A unique part of this guide is section 3 designed with the practitioner in mind. Here is a list of practical sources for the researchers already involved in the field of human rights. Part 4 is a list of general secondary sources that one may resort to, such as, working on specific issues or groups in mind. Finally, in part 5 there is a selective list of other useful research guides and bibliographies.

This is a selective list of sources on international human rights. For additional assistance in locating sources at Columbia's Diamond Law Library, please do not hesitate to contact the reference librarians at the Reference Desk. For directions and reference hours, see Columbia Law: About the Library.

Contents

Background Sources

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Human Rights, 2nd edition
Includes a handy appendix with some of the fundamental human rights texts.
Handbook of International Human Rights Terminology, 2nd edition
Much more than a dictionary with comprehensive appendixes including an appendix on "Official Citations for Human Rights and Related Instruments"
Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations, 2nd edition
Updated edition of the 1997 work, providing information on private, governmental, national and international organizations. An extensive subject bibliography is included.

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies
A useful source for beginner researchers in locating explanations of key concepts and terms from human rights rhetoric, decisions of national and international adjudicative bodies, and international agreements. Included are main documents significant to the historical development of human rights.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights, 2nd ed.
This is an expansive compendium that covers the years between 1945 and 1996 and includes human rights instruments with citations to the official sources, state of human rights around the world, biographical information on Nobel Peace Prize winners, function and accomplishments of international organizations. Appendix contains a chronological list of documents included in this work. A glossary and a subject index are also available.
Encyclopedia of Public International Law
This is 5-volume comprehensive reference work containing articles written by international scholars dealing with all aspects of public international law: basic principles, rules, and summaries of important decisions. A useful source for a description and an evaluation of public international law subjects with the relevant legal situations, including many human rights-related topics.

Directories

World directory of human rights research and training institutions, 6th edition
Prepared by the Social and Human Sciences Documentation Centre and the Division of Human Rights of UNESCO this updated edition of the directory provides much more than contact information. The entries are annotated and there are several finding aids including subject and specialist indexes.
Human Rights Organizations & Periodicals Directory
Directory of groups and publications in the United States dedicated to human rights. Alphabetical guide with full contact information, geographical index by state, list of internships, and a periodical index are some of the useful features included.
Dictionary of Human Rights Advocacy Organizations in Africa
Directory of advocacy groups listed alphabetically with descriptions following the entries. A country index is most useful for users seeking organizations in a specific nation in Africa.
National human rights institutions in the Asia Pacific Region
This source is much more than a directory. It is a collection of select international materials and comparative tables to enable the researcher to compare the established institutions in the region. Beyond academic usage, this volume may also be a useful reference to countries considering establishing a national human rights commission or for those trying to strengthen the existing commission. Also of use is a section on conducting national inquiries. The bulk of the text is dedicated to the relevant legislation of the countries in the region, making this a valuable reference source

Other References

International Human Rights in a Nutshell, 3rd edition
A compact introduction to the international law of human rights. The table of cases with full citations may be quite useful.
World Human Rights Guide
This guide provides questionnaires from 104 countries in the form of a checklist. 40 human rights indicators from the major UN treaties are defined and measured.

Primary Sources

Human Rights Organizations – Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)

United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
See also, Research Guide: The United Nations
Council of Europe – Human Rights
See also, Research Guide : The European Human Rights System and the European Court of Human Rights
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
African Union
Launched in 2002, this union of 53 African countries has many visions, including promoting and protecting human and people’s rights in accordance with the African Charter on Human and People’s Rights and other relevant human rights instruments. Many of the organs of the AU are still in development. Some documents, such as the decisions of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, are available in full text on the AU website.
The African Court on Human and People's Rights
African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights
Established by the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights which came into force in 1986, the Commission is charged with ensuring the promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights throughout the African continent. The protocol calling for a court on human and peoples’ rights is available in full text. The website includes the texts of periodic reports submitted by member countries relating to the rights and freedoms included in the Charter.

Human Rights Organizations – Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Amnesty International
Human Rights Watch
Maastricht Centre for Human Rights
Human Rights Internet
African Center for Democracy and Human Rights Studies
Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa (IHRDA)
Center for Justice and International Law (CEJIL)
Centro de Estudios Legales y Sociales (CELS)
Asian Human Rights Commission
Derechos Human Rights

A comprehensive, searchable NGO database is available online through UN. A handy list of Human Rights NGOs is also available through Duke University.


Human Rights Treaties

Columbia Law Students can access treaties through HeinOnline, WestLaw, Lexis, Tiara, and United Nations Treaty Collection. More details can be found in the library’s Guide to Treaty Research. The following section lists treaties and treaty collections related to human rights only.

Individual Treaties

African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights
1520 UNTS 217 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
21 ILM 58 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
See also, The African charter of human and peoples' rights: a comprehensive agenda for human dignity and sustainable democracy in Africa. The Hague; New York: Kluwer Law International, 2003. 3rd Fl Reserve, JX4263.P3 Af835 2003
American Convention on Human Rights
1144 UNTS 143 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
OASTS No. 36 (Organization of American States Treaty Series available in print)
9 ILM 99 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment
1465 UNTS 85 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
S. Treaty Doc. No. 100-20 (Senate Treaty Documents are available in printand on HeinOnline, scroll to page ii after the page loads)
23 ILM 1027 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, also known as the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR)
213 UNTS 222 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
Europ.T.S. No. 5 (European Treaty Series is available in print)
Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women
1249 UNTS 13 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
19 ILM 33 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
Convention on the Political Rights of Women
193 UNTS 134 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide
78 UNTS 277 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
102 Stat 3045 (Statutes at Large is available in print and on HeinOnline)
Convention on the Rights of the Child
1577 UNTS 3 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
28 ILM 1456 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees
189 UNTS 150 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
19 UST 6223 (United States Treaties are available in print and onHeinOnline)
Geneva Convention (I) for the Amelioration of the Condition of the Wounded and Sick in Armed Forces in the Field
75 UNTS 31 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
6 UST 3114 (United States Treaties are available in print and onHeinOnline)
Geneva Convention (II) for the Amelioration of the Condition of Wounded, Sick and Shipwrecked Members of Armed Forces at Sea (12 Aug 1949)
75 UNTS 85 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
6 UST 3217 (United States Treaties are available in print and onHeinOnline)
Geneva Convention (III) Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War (12 Aug 1949)
75 UNTS 135 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
6 UST 3316 (United States Treaties are available in print and onHeinOnline)
Geneva Convention (IV) Relative to the Protection of Civilian Persons in Time of War (12 Aug 1949)
75 UNTS 287 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
6 UST 3516 (United States Treaties are available in print and onHeinOnline)
International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination
660 UNTS 195 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights
999 UNTS 171 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
6 ILM 368 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
993 UNTS 3 (available in print and online through the United Nations Treaty Collection for members of the Columbia University Campus)
6 ILM 360 (International Legal Materials is available in print and onHeinOnline)
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
GA Res. 217A (III), UN Doc A/810 at 71 (1948) (available on microficheand online through the Official Document System of the United Nations for members of the Columbia University Campus)

Treaty Collections

Human rights: A Compilation of International Instruments
Two-volume set that includes instruments adopted by the International Labour Organization, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.
International Human Rights Instruments
Although no longer updated in print, this is a great volume that is still of use because it contains international human rights instruments that U.S. is a party to, treaties which U.S. has signed but not ratified, and treaties that U.S. has not signed. Reservations and Declarations are included as well as U.S. action along with a selected bibliography.
Fletcher School, Tufts University
Provides links to a number of Human Rights treaties
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library - Human Rights Treaties and Other Instruments
This is a superb collection of human rights materials. The treaties collection is searchable by subject, country and keyword. Also look at the entire Human Rights Library which is an excellent electronic resource with more than 25,000 documents referenced.

Jurisprudence, Case Law and Decisions

In general, text of recent cases are well documented on the court websites but when looking for older decisions refer to the print sources and for citing purposes print may be the preferred format.

International Court of Justice
More information can be found in The International Court of Justice Research Guide.
International Criminal Court
Cases are available online through the official court website.
United Nations - Human Rights Committee
Cases are available online through the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights from the Human Rights Committee, the Committee against Torture, and the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination.
European Court of Human Rights
More information can be found in the European Human Rights System and the European Court of Human Rights Research Guide.
Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Cases are available online through the official court website.

Available in print

International Human Rights Reports: Nottingham, England: Human Rights Law Centre, University of Nottingham, 1994- 2nd Fl, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX4263.P3 In835
Serie C--Resoluciones y sentencias San José, : Secretaría de la Corte, 1987- 2nd Floor/Latest UNBOUND issues in 3rd Fl Reserve, JX4263.P3 In87826
Repertorio de jurisprudencia del sistema interamericano de derechos humanos: la Corte Interamericana de Derechos Humanos, 1980-1997 Washington, D.C.: Centro de Derechos Humanos y Derecho Internacional Humanitario, Washington College of Law, American University, 1998. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 In802 1998
Annual report of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights to the General Assembly Washington D.C.: General Secretariat, Organization of American States, 1981- 2nd Fl, JX1980.A7 In82
Anuario interamericano de derechos humanos/Interamerican yearbook on human rights The Hague: Martinus Nijhoff. Washington: General Secretariat of the Organization of American States, 1968- 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 An89

Truth Commissions and Ad Hoc Tribunals

When viewing the websites switching to the vernacular maybe helpful if you speak the language, it may include information not translated into English.

Argentina

Las Comisiones de la Verdad en America Latina (National Commission on the Disappeared)
For more information see commission’s report:
Nunca más: the report of the Argentine National Commission on the Disappeared New York: Farrar Straus Giroux, in association with Index on Censorship, London, 1986. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 Ar3715

Bolivia

Las Comisiones de la Verdad en America Latina (National Commission on the Disappeared)

Cambodia

Special Tribunal for Cambodia: Documentation Center of Cambodiais an NGO that provides information on the Khmer Rouge regime and is a resource center for those who wish to pursue legal redress for the crimes committed between 1975 and 1979.
Cambodian Genocide Program Yale University website providing access to documents, translations, maps, books and research papers on the genocide as well as a rich archive on the Khmer Rouge regime's security police, the Santebal.
Another NGO website monitoring the establishment of the tribunal with links to articles, Global Policy Forum.
For more information see report by the National Reconciliation after the Khmer Rouge project team:
National reconciliation after the Khmer Rouge. Report on NGO Activities Related to the Khmer Rouge Tribunal in Cambodia. Phnom Penh : Center for Advanced Study, 2006. Cellar, Cam 844 N213 2006

Chad

The Case Against Hissène Habré (Human Rights Watch): HRW monitor on the Chad commission includes cases and press releases.
Commission of Inquiry into the Crimes and Misappropriations Committed by Ex-President Habré: Chad: Truth Commissions: Library and Links: U.S. Institute of Peace: decree establishing the commission

Chile

Las Comisiones de la Verdad en America Latina (National Commission on the Disappeared)
For more information see commission’s report:
Report of the Chilean National Commission on Truth and Reconciliation. Notre Dame: Published in cooperation with the Center for Civil and Human Rights, Notre Dame Law School, by the University of Notre Dame Press, 1993. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 C4375 1993.
Also available online through the United States Institute of Peace: Chile: Reports: Truth Commissions: Library & Links: U.S. Institute of Peace

East Timor

Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation in East Timor

Ecuador

Declaration and articles available in Spanish, Presidencia de la República - Política

El Salvador

See commission’s report:
From madness to hope: the 12-year war in El Salvador: report of the Commission on the Truth for El Salvador. New York, N.Y.: United Nations, Security Council, 1993. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 Sa3921 1993
Also available online through the United States Institute of Peace: El Salvador: Truth Commissions

Fiji

Reconciliation and Unity Commission Report of the Sector Standing Committee on Justice, Law and Order on the Promotion of Reconciliation, Tolerance and Unity Bill 2005
Draft of the proposed Promotion of Reconciliation, Tolerance and Unity Bill published in the Fiji Times http://www.fijitimes.com/unitybill.pdf

Germany

Collections on Nuremberg:
Avalon Project Nuremberg War Crimes Trials, Yale Law School.
Nazi War Crimes Interagency Working Group, National Archives.
Nuremberg Trials Project, Harvard Law School.
Telford Taylor Papers, Columbia Law School.

Haiti

National Truth and Justice Commission

Liberia

Liberia Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Peru

Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Sierra Leone

The Special Court for Sierra Leone
Consolidated Legal Texts for the Special Court for Sierra Leone by Charles Jalloh. Leiden, The; Boston: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2007. 4th Fl, KZ6310 .J35 2007.

South Africa

Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Other Resources:

For a list of truth commissions and their website, see the United States Institute of Peace.

For more information on truth commissions in general see www.TruthCommission.org, a collaboration between the Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School, Search for Common Ground (an international NGO based in Washington, D.C.), and the European Centre for Common Ground (in Brussels). The site provides a great bibliography.

Global war crimes tribunal collection. Nijmegen, : Global Law Association; Holmes Beach, Fla. : Gaunt [distributor], c1997- 3rd Fl Reserve, JX6731.W3 R51 1997


How to find country-specific information

Foreign law : current sources of codes and basic legislation in jurisdictions of the world
Berkeley, Calif.: University of California, 2000- 3rd Fl Ref, K38 .R49 1989. Also available electronically. An invaluable guide to official and commercial print and electronic sources of legislation and jurisprudence with references to English translations.
Germain's Transnational Law Research: A Guide for Attorneys
Ardsley-on-Hudson, NY: Transnational Juris Publications, Inc., 1991-. 3rd Fl Ref, Comp 077 G317. A good starting point of research for nonspecialists.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
These reports are submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress. The reports are available online and in print.

For more information on electronic sources for finding foreign law, see Finding Foreign Law Resources on the Internet

For a Selective List of Guides to Foreign Law, see List of Guides to Foreign Legal Research

Sources for Practitioners

Texts

Germain's Transnational Law Research: A Guide for Attorneys 
Ardsley-on-Hudson, NY: Transnational Juris Publications, Inc., 1991-. 3rd Fl Ref, Comp 077 G317
A good starting point of research for nonspecialists.
Guide to international human rights practice
Ardsley, N.Y. : Transnational Publishers, 4th ed. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 G936 2004
Each chapter is written by an expert in the field that spanning the UN, Inter-American, European, and the African human rights systems as well as other forums. The appendixes are most valuable with a bibliographic essay, checklists for selecting appropriate forum, IGO addresses, ratification information and citations for major human rights instruments.
Funding Human Rights: An International Directory of Funding Organizations & Human Rights Awards, 3rd ed.
3rd Fl Reference, JX4263.P3 F962 1999
This directory is a joint project of Human Rights Internet and International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development. 98 funders are listed in four different categories of foundations and charitable trusts, governmental development agencies, non-governmental development organizations, and IGOs. Also included is information on 56 human rights awards. Entries include contact information, size and number of grants, program areas, and contact information.
The Handbook of Human Rights Investigation: A Comprehensive Guide to the Investigation and Documentation of Violent Human Rights Abuses
Northborough, MA: Human Rights Press, 2001. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 G899 2001
Provides a set of standards and procedures on documenting human rights abuses.
The Human Rights Handbook: A Practical Guide to Monitoring Human Rights
Capetown: Juta, 1997. 3rd Fl Reference, JX4263.P3 En36 1997
This handbook is a practical guide to monitoring civil and political rights for those persons working in the field. It contains the essential human rights law texts and guidelines on working practice. It focuses on how to operate on the frontline of human rights work in two contexts: how to monitor, investigate and report human rights violations in a repressive state (chapter 4), and how to monitor human rights and foster awareness in a State emerging into multiparty democracy (chapter 5). Included are chapters on how to set up a human rights network, international reporting and complaints procedures and how to use them.
Economic, Social, and Cultural rights: Handbook for National Human Rights Institutions
New York: United Nations, 2005. 4th Fl, JC571.E35 2005
This handbook can be adapted into a trainer’s guide for national human rights institutions. It is composed of three main sections: section one provides a summary of state obligations to promote and protect various rights under international and domestic law; section two examines the role of human rights institutions, their mandate, power and functions; section three focuses on practical strategies for national human rights institutions to work on promoting and protecting economic, social and cultural rights.
Essential Texts on Human Rights for the Police: A Compilation of International Instruments
The Hague; Boston: Kluwer Law International, 2001. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 Es74 2001
Identifies human rights instruments essential to police work. Intended to be used in human rights education and training programs for police and other officials exercising police powers.
How to Complain to the UN Human Rights Treaty System
Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers; New York: Consultative Council of Jewish Organizations and the Shoresh Charitable Trust, 2002. 2nd Fl, JX1977.H9 B34 2002
Written for individuals seeking to apply for relief to a UN Treaty body. A bit dated but still useful work; refer to the author’s website for more current information.
Human Rights Handbook for Practicing Journalists
Avondale, Harare, Zimbabwe: Human Rights Trust of Southern Africa, 2003. 4th Fl, JC599.A366 H84 2003
A handy and concise reference work, with sections on monitoring and enforcement mechanisms (section 2); promotion, protection and advocacy (section 3); rights of marginalized groups – women, children, and the disabled (section 4); rights of people affected by HIV/AIDS (section 5).
International Criminal Practice: the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, the International Criminal Court, the Special Court for Sierra Leone, the East Timor Special Panel for Serious Crimes, war crimes prosecutions in Kosovo, 3rd ed.
Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, Oxford. Oxford University Press, 2003. 2nd Fl, JX6731.I5 J718 2003
This third edition is a thematic presentation of international criminal practice; this is the practice of international criminal courts and tribunals. It is an essential source that synthesizes procedure and substance including jurisprudence and rules. An expansive index and bibliography are also included.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, a Guide for Teachers
Paris: UNESCO, 1953. 2nd Fl, JX1976.E2 T65 no.8
One of the booklets in a series published by UNESCO offering suggestions for teaching about human rights in a classroom setting.

Online Sources

International Human Rights Funders Group
The International Human Rights Funders Group (IHRFG) is an association of grantmakers. The Group works to promote the exchange of information and collaboration among grantmakers; improve the use, reach and effectiveness of existing resources; expand resources to meet the growing needs of the field; and help other funders to explore the added value of a human rights approach. The site includes a public and searchable Funders Directory, which contains information on funding, grants, and human rights support around the world.
Bayefsky.com
Anne F. Bayefsky is a professor at York University, Toronto, Canada. The site is designed to enhance the implementation of the human rights legal standards of the United Nations. The website provides a wide array of information on the application of the UN human rights treaty system by its monitoring treaty bodies.

Secondary Sources

Books

To locate books on human rights in the various catalogs available to the members of the Columbia University campus, try the various subject searches in the following catalogs:

Columbia Law Library Catalog - Pegasus
Human rights
Human rights advocacy
Children's rights
Civil rights
Social rights
Truth commissions
Women's rights
Columbia University Libraries Catalog - CLIO
Human rights
Human rights advocacy
Human rights [country]

For sources on Human Rights through Columbia University, see the Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs: Information Resources

WorldCat

  • Human rights
  • International human rights
  • [country] human rights
  • Try subject searches in other languages for example:
    • Derechos Humanos (Spanish)
    • Droit de l’homme (French)
    • Menschenrechte (German)
    • Diritti dell’uomo (Italian)

Periodicals

Indexes

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Mountain View, Calif.: Research Libraries Group
This index provides access to legal literature published worldwide since 1985 covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law including journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Bronx, N.Y.: H.W. Wilson Co.
This is a bibliographic database that indexes books and cites articles from law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications from the United States, Great Britain, Canada, and Australia. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
LegalTrac
Detroit, Mich.: Thomson Gale.
Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals from English-speaking countries, along with law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
PAIS International
New York, N.Y.: Public Affairs Information Service.
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include international relations, environment, health, law and legislation, political science, public administration, education, and statistics.

Selective List of Human Rights Journals

African human rights law journal. Lansdowne [South Africa]: Juta Law, 2001. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX1 Af833, HeinOnline
Asia-Pacific journal on human rights and the law. The Hague; Boston: Kluwer Law International, 2000. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX4263.P3 As426, HeinOnline
Columbia human rights law review. New York, N.Y.: Columbia Human Rights Law Review, 1972. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, P C725, HeinOnline
European human rights law review. London: Sweet & Maxwell, 1995. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX1 Eu74
Harvard human rights journal. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Law School, 1990. 2nd Fl, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX4263.P3 H261, HeinOnline
Human rights: a quarterly review of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. Geneva: The Office, 1997. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX1 H8804
Human rights law journal : HRLJ. Kehl am Rhein [West Germany]; Arlington [Va.]: N.P. Engel, 1980. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX1 H883
Human Rights Quarterly. Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1981. 3rd Fl Reserve, Comp 908.1 Un351, HeinOnline
Journal of human rights. London: Carfax Pub., 2002. Cellar & 3rd Fl Reserve, JX1 J825
The international journal of human rights. London: Frank Cass & Co. Ltd, 1997. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 In838
International journal on minority and group rights. The Hague; Boston: Kluwer Law International, 1997. Cellar, 3rd Fl Reserve, JX1 In8121, HeinOnline
Muslim World Journal of Human Rights. Berkeley, CA : Berkeley Electronic Press, 2004.
Yale human rights & development law journal. New Haven, Conn.: Yale Law School, 1999. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 Y12


Subject-Specific Sources

Children

Children's rights.
Aldershot, Hants, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate Dartmouth, 2004. Cellar, Comp 332 C437 2004.
This is a two-volume compilation of essays on general philosophical and practical issues concerning children’s rights. A good source for those conducting scholarly research on children’s rights.
The U.N. Convention on the Rights of the Child: an analysis of treaty provisions and implications of U.S. ratification.
Ardsley, N.Y.: Transnational Publishers, 2006. 4th FL, K639 .U65 2006.
This book provides an extensive analysis of the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the United States’ position on the convention.

Education

The Human Rights Handbook: A Global Perspective for Education.
Stoke-on-Trent, UK; Sterling, Va.: Trentham, 2003. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 G42 2003.
A practical text for teachers, students and researchers with minimal background in the human rights field.

Health

Health and Human Rights: A Reader.
New York: Routledge, 1999. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 H3494 1999.
A collection of published articles on health and human rights written for health workers, human rights workers, and others studying the subject.
A Thematic Guide to Documents on Health and Human Rights: Global and Regional Standards Adopted by Intergovernmental Organizations, International Non-Governmental Organizations and Professional Associations
The Hague; Boston: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers; Cambridge, MA: Sold and distributed in North, Central and South America by Kluwer Law International, 1998. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 T342 1998.
This volume provides a comprehensive coverage of international human rights standards grouped by subject-matter. Detailed table of contents, chronological listing of all the instruments addressed and a thorough index make this work a great starting point for anyone researching health and human rights.
Health and Human Rights: An International Quarterly Journal.
Boston, Mass.: Harvard School of Public Health, François-Xavier Bagnoud Center for Health and Human Rights, 1994-.
This quarterly journal examines the effect of human rights violations on health and the impact of health policies on human rights.

Immigrant Rights

The Human Rights of Aliens under International and Comparative law.
Boston: M. Nijhoff Publishers, 2001. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 T436 2001.
This book provides a thorough examination of the treatment of aliens under international law and an analysis of the adoption of these laws by different nations and their implementation into domestic legislation.

Indigenous Group Rights

Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights.
New York: Juris Publishing; Manchester, UK: Manchester University Press, 2002. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 T393 2002.
A detailed analysis of human rights instruments and principles relating to the rights of indigenous peoples.
Indigenous Human Rights.
Sydney: Sydney Institute of Criminology, Faculty of Law, University of Sydney, 2001. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 In241 2001.
Compilation of essays by scholars on indigenous human rights with a focus on indigenous rights in Australia.
Research Guide - Researching Indigenous Peoples Rights Under International Law

Labor & Employment

Employment Law and Human Rights.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 G796 2002.
Written for employment law practitioners wanting to know more about employment law and human rights and provide them with a deeper understanding of the relevant ECHR jurisprudence.

Women

Women and International Human Rights Law.
Ardsley, NY: Transnational, 1998-2001. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 W8426 1998.
This is a four-volume treatise on women’s international human rights written by various scholars in the field geared for an academic audience.
Research Guide, University of Toronto - Women's Human Rights in the Context of International Law Research

Bibliographies and Research Guides

  • Guide to Human Rights Research. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard Law School, Human Rights Program, 1994. 2nd Fl, JX4263.P3 T554 1994.
    A bit dated but still a useful guide to human rights research with a section dedicated to United States foreign policy.
TOOLBOX
LANGUAGES
Personal tools