From Research Guides
Jump to: navigation, search

Columbia Law Library information during COVID-19

Written by Columbia Law Library Last Updated 8.28.20

Law Library Space

Hours

The Columbia Law Library will be open for seat reservations:
Monday - Sunday: 10:00 am to 6:00 pm

The Columbia Law School Building (Jerome Greene Hall) will be open:
Monday - Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 pm

Seat Reservations

The Columbia Law Library has limited seating available by reservation. Reservations can be made here.
Reservations are limited to Columbia Law students and Columbia Law Visiting Scholars only.
All other Columbia Affiliates are prohibited from using the Law Library.
Students using the Law Library must have the Columbia University daily COVID-19 attestation completed, to get into Jerome Greene Hall, a seat reservation and confirmation code, and abide by all health and safety policies while in the Law Library (including proper distancing and mask usage). For information on violations of the policies, please see the Enforcement Plan for Enhanced Health and Safety Policy.

Seats are available on 2nd floor and 3rd floor of the Law Library depending on your needs.
Seats on the 2nd floor are for Computer lab access and quiet study.
Seats on the 3rd floor are for general use including online classes, interviews, and studying.

Desk Delivery of Print Materials

  • The Columbia Law Library stacks are closed and off-limits to onsite users. Due to agreements with databases for access to digital materials during the COVID-19 pandemic, the Columbia Law Library stacks are unavailable to patrons until further notice. Seat reservations within the Law Library permit use of whole, non-digitally available material only. No stacks browsing is permitted at this time.

Seat reservations within the Law Library permit use of up to 5 onsite print resources. The follow exclusions apply:

Onsite print usage requests are made through the Law library Seat Reservation system. Note that due to health and safety procedures, a requested book may only be used for a single day before being quarantined for 4 days. If you request books for onsite use, it will be unavailable to anyone, including you, for 4 days after use.

Food and Drink Policy

Due to face coverings being required at all times, eating and drinking is prohibited within the Law Library. Do not push yourself, take breaks for food and water, and feel free to come and go from the Law Library throughout your reservation. Bottle filling stations and water fountains are located on the 3rd floor outside of the Law Library.

Printing

For the most up-to-date information on student printing, please visit the Law IT Student Printing page.
Printing is available in the JGH 3rd floor computer lab across from the entrance of the Law Library.
Printing is also available in the Law Library with a confirmed seat reservation.

Book Returns and Fines

Please return Law Library materials at your convenience using the book drop slot to the right of the Law Library entrance on the 3rd floor of JGH. Fines will not be accrued or assessed on items at this time.

Please note that if you are returning books on campus, you must abide by all health and safety policies.

Columbia University Libraries have also suspended fines and are not accepting returned materials.

Reference Support Hours

Summer Reference Support Hours:

Monday - Friday: 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed

June 19, 2020: Closed
July 3, 2020: Closed

Fall 2020 Semester Reference Hours (September 7, 2020 - December 23, 2020):

Beginning after Labor Day (September 7, 2020)

Monday - Thursday: 10:00 am to 8:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm

September 7, 2020: Closed - Labor Day
November 3, 2020: Closed - Election Day
November 26 - 27: Closed - Thanksgiving Holiday

The Columbia Law School Academic Calendar is available here.

Reference Support

For Columbia Affiliates

If you have a research question or want to know what databases and resources are available to you from home, send an email from your Lionmail account to ReferenceDesk@law.columbia.edu.
This service is available to Columbia affiliates only, including Visiting Scholars as part of the Columbia Law Visiting Scholars Program
Alumni who have questions and do not have their Lionmail credentials can retrieve UNIs here or contact Columbia University IT.

Please see Reference Support Hours for the regularly scheduled hours.

For Columbia Law Faculty Members

Please contact the Reference Department as you normally would for assistance with electronic resources.

For Law Journal staff

For an overview of resources available to Columbia Law School journal staff, please see the guide available here.

For Fee-Based Services Subscribers

The Fee-Based Services department will continue to operate on Monday through Friday from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm, albeit with reduced capabilities. Please submit any requests via email at firmserv@law.columbia.edu (not telephone) and we will let you know what we have available.

Research Tools

Electronic resources

Most of the Law Library's databases are accessible to you from off-campus. The best way to access particular databases is either through a Pegasus search, or by going to the Law Library databases page. A simple Google search for the database will not provide you with the same access as you have through the Law Library.

There are some databases that are only available via the Law School's network. If you are looking for something in one of those databases, please contact the Law Library Reference Support, as described above.

Lexis Advance, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law

Your individual credentials to these platforms are still valid, and will provide you with access to content from anywhere with an internet connection.
For 2020 Graduates, please see Resources for Graduates.

New York Public Library Resources

The New York Public Library’s electronic resources may also be helpful to you.
Although many of the NYPL databases may also be accessible from Columbia University Libraries via CLIO, it may be worthwhile to browse NYPL’s academic e-book collections if you are unable to find a particular e-book on CLIO.
If you don’t already have a NYPL library card, you can apply for an electronic one using the SimplyE app. here.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) temporarily gives access to 40% of Columbia’s print collections in digital format.
To access this digital library, please see the information above.

Columbia Law School VPN Connection

You can find information on connecting to Columbia Law School's VPN through CLS's IT help page here.

Resources for Graduates

Legal Database Access

Westlaw
When you enroll in the Grad Elite Program, Westlaw will extend access to graduates for 18 months. To gain access you will receive a pop-up when you log on or you can go HERE and hit agree. Westlaw access for graduates is limited to 60 hours each month for the 18 months.
For more information, please see the announcement here.

Lexis
Graduates may continue accessing https://lexisnexis.com/LawSchool Lexis] with their student ID for ongoing free use of Lexis Advance, including all of the products and features available as a student, through December 31, 2020. All law students have automatic extended access. With LexisNexis, no registration is required, there are no restrictions, and no limits on your research time.

Bloomberg Law
2020 graduating law students will have unrestricted access to Bloomberg Law through June 1, 2021. The access to be automatically applied to your account, no registration is required.

Reference Support for Graduates and Alumni

Please see the Support for Columbia Affiliates below.


Course Reserves

For course materials that have been requested by faculty, we will digitally loan non-casebook materials, by chapter. Casebooks are one of the materials that publishers intentionally lock down to individual use, or make institutional access prohibitively costly. We will not be providing casebook access in any form during the Fall 2020 semester. For other required materials that professors have requested be placed on course reserves, we will loan a chapter scan upon request, loaned out via your Columbia Lionmail drive.
The Columbia Law Library is working towards providing access to non-casebook Course Reserves for the Fall 2020 semester. Please check Pegasus for updated information on available Course Reserves.

Information on Discounted Casebooks

Discounted Casebooks Some of the major academic publishers are significant discounts on their electronic casebooks when you order directly from the publisher’s website. Publishers that are offering discounts are listed below, with instructions about how to order.
Please note that not all of the casebooks and textbooks assigned by your professors come from publishers that are offering discounts.

West Academic

Columbia Law affiliates can use the code COLUMBIALAW for 15% off West Academic titles.

Wolters Kluwer

Students can purchase digital-only access to Wolters Kluwer Connected Casebook at 40% off the print list price.

Go to https://www.wklegaledu.com/textbooks/law-school and search or browse for your casebook. Once you find the book, be sure to select “Digital Only Casebook Connect” under format. Note: some casebooks are not available in digital format and that option won’t appear. At this time, there is no discount for the print versions of casebooks. You will receive your access code upon completion of your transaction.

Using the access code, register your product at https://www.casebookconnect.com/ and start using the full e-book (works on any device), practice questions, and learning tools immediately.

Please note that not all casebooks from Wolters Kluwer are available as digital copies.

LexisNexis and Carolina Academic Press

We have been told that these publishers will be offering a discount, but we don’t have the information at this time. We will update this page as soon as we hear from them.

Access to print material

Law Library Material (Pegasus)

The Columbia Law Library will make every effort to provide digital access to as much material as possible. Unfortunately, not all materials are available digitally, some may only be available for individual purchase and use, and others may be sold within packages that are prohibitively costly.
To access onsite print material (excluding casebooks, course reserves, and special collections and rare material:
1. Use the Pegasus scan request link within the resource record.

a. A Reference Librarian will work to provide a digital copy of the material requested and send you the link.
b. If, for whatever reason, we cannot obtain a digital copy of the material, onsite Law Library staff will scan the request material and make it available via Lionmail Drive.

2. If the material is not available digitally when you reserve a seat within the Law Library and request it, it will be delivered to your seat for use during that day.
Note that due to health and safety procedures, a requested book may only be used for a single day before being quarantined for 4 days. If you request books for onsite use, it will be unavailable to anyone, for 4 days after use.

Columbia University Libraries' Materials (CLIO)

Update coming soon.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) temporarily gives access to 40% of Columbia’s print collections in digital format.
To access this collection, use the CLIO link here and when prompted, log in with your UNI and password. Please note:

  • ETAS makes items available digitally for each print item available via CLIO and in the same quantity.
  • ETAS loans are for online use only using a browser based page turner (no downloads).
  • Items are checked out via CLIO through ETAS are for an hour but will be automatically renewed for as long as they’re in use (if a browser window or tab is closed or inactive the loan will end after an hour).
  • Users can return an item when it is no longer needed which will make it available more quickly to the next user.

For more detailed user documentation about the service see the ETAS: Information for Users.

The Online Bluebook

The Bluebook is offering complimentary 60 day access to the online version of the Bluebook. To request access, please email referencedesk@law.columbia.edu from your Lionmail account and you will be provided with a Bluebook Redemption Key.

To redeem this Key and set up an account, enter it at https://www.legalbluebook.com/ where it says "Bluebook Key Redemption" and follow the on-screen instructions to set up a username (unique and active email address) and password. You only use tBold texthe key once. From that point forward, you access your account with your username and password.

The subscription is active 60 days from the date you redeem this key on the website.

After you set up your account you might need to log out and then log back in again to view site contents.

If a user previously had a Bluebook subscription that expired, it is easiest to set up a new account with a different email address. To extend an existing account, go to My Account at the top of the page, Extend My Subscription, select the radio button for My Account Renewal/Extension and enter the key where it says Redeem Your Bluebook Key and click Go.

Lexis Nexis

Unlimited use emergency access ended on or around June 1, 2020.

West Academic

West Academic Casebooks

Unlimited use emergency access ended on or around June 1, 2020.

West Academic Study Materials

Unlimited use emergency access ended on or around June 1, 2020.

Carolina Academic Press and Wolters Kluwer

Unlimited use emergency access ended on or around June 1, 2020.

Bloomsbury Collections (Hart Publications and Verlag C.H. Beck)

Unlimited use emergency access ended on or around June 1, 2020.